Thor Heyerdahl Award

Green Award, winner of the very first Heyerdahl Award in 2001, congratulates the International Tanker Owners Pollution Federation Ltd, (ITOPF) on winning the prestigious Thor Heyerdahl International Maritime Environmental Award for 2003.

Launched in 1999 by explorer Thor Heyerdahl and the Norwegian Shipowners' Association, the Award recognises organisations or individuals who have provided outstanding services for the benefit of the marine environment. Other current sponsors of the Award are Det Norske Veritas, Gard Services and Assuranceforeningen Skuld.

At a ceremony in Oslo City Hall on 3 June, Mr Terje J K Andersen, President of the Norwegian Shipowners' Association and Chairman of The Awarding Committee, praised the role that ITOPF plays in providing advice and assistance, without charge, to government authorities all over the world in dealing with accidental spills of oil and other substances from ships. He stated that ITOPF is "a brilliant example of knowledge management and knowledge sharing".  


© 2009 | Sitemap | Disclaimer | Contact